Sally Shapiro

My Guilty Pleasure

Continue Shopping or View Cart


Swedish italo-disco artist Sally Shapiro and producer Johan Agebjörn are proud to bring forth the long-awaited follow-up to Sally’s debut, Disco Romance, titled My Guilty Pleasure, released on August 25, 2009. The album is described by Sally and Agebjörn as “a bit more poppy and varied” than the debut, taking influences from genres like trance, cosmic disco, acid, ambient and jazz while still having 80’s disco as its base, and definitely keeping the romantic feel of Disco Romance. “It will hopefully make you fall in love with the person sitting next to you on the bus,” says Sally.

The name ‘Sally Shapiro’ refers to both the Swedish duo, consisting of the producer Johan Agebjörn and an anonymous singer, as well as the pseudonym of the singer herself. In December 2004 Agebjörn discovered Shapiro’s gentle and beautiful voice while the two were singing Christmas carols together. About one year later they uploaded their first track, ‘I’ll Be By Your Side,’ to italo-disco forums and were immediately being contacted by record labels.

In October 2007, Paper Bag Records released Sally’s debut, Disco Romance, in North America with a revised track listing including new tracks. The album was revered by the press, nominated as “dance/electronic album of the year” at the U.S. Plug Awards and was given a spot in Pitchfork’s top 50 albums of 2007. Since then, the duo’s presence on music blogs continued by the releases of two remix albums, including remixes by Lindstrøm, Junior Boys, and Juan MacLean. Their song ‘Hold Me So Tight’ was also included on Felix da Housecat’s mix CD in 2008.

In 2008 Sally Shapiro did a handful of live appearances in the US. Meanwhile, Johan released his solo ambient album Mossebo on Lotuspike and made remixes for artists like Lindstrøm and Glass Candy.

Track Listing:

  1. Swimming Through The Blue Lagoon
  2. Looking At The Stars
  3. Love In July
  4. My Fantasy
  5. Let It Show
  6. Moonlight Dance
  7. Save your Love
  8. Dying In Africa
  9. Miracle
Catalogue No:
Release Date:
August 25, 2009