Great Lake Swimmers Box Set

Continue Shopping or View Cart

Paper Bag Vintage is thrilled to be releasing an exclusive remastered box set of the Great Lake Swimmers first 3 albums, plus a box set exclusive bonus disc, on October 20th!

This box set features 'Great Lake Swimmers' (2003), 'Bodies And Minds' (2005) and 'Ongiara' (2007) available for the first time on limited edition clear vinyl. These critically-acclaimed titles are accompanied by a 4th bonus disc, 'Demos And Outtakes, 2001-2007,' which includes B-sides, demos, outtakes and other rarities from the Great Lake Swimmers' vaults. This collectible box set is limited to 200 copies, and includes an exclusive signed and numbered print, stickers and a 4 postcard set within each box. 

Great Lake Swimmers' founder Tony Dekker reflects on the recording of 2003's Great Lake Swimmers: "Late-summer 2001, recording. A year spent in a Toronto movie office, also playing drums, bass, writing, remembering Wainfleet, an intact abandoned grain silo towering above a collapsed house, collapsed barn, storm and fire long having left them... Nature reclaiming what had been left to rot. Beautiful decay. If you don't want it, I'll take it."

Of 2005's Bodies And Minds, Dekker recalls recording at St. Teresa's in Wainfleet, Ontario: " Long beach, mostly privatized unless you know where to go, a sandy shell-picking spot remembered on Lake Erie, the beach church closed for the season... St. Terea's isn't there any more. I went there recently and it was sold, bulldozed. This might be its document."

2007's Ongiara was recorded at Aeolian Hall in London, Ontario. Dekker remembers the historic Hall's "glorious echoes, resonance... A light-night bat recorded in the rafters."

Demos And Outtakes, 2001-2007 Track Listing:

Side A

1. To Leave It Behind (Band Version)

2. Changing Colours (Strings Version)

3. Send Me A Letter

4. Gonna Make It Through This Year

5. Hands In Dirty Ground

Side B

1. Richmond's Rich

2. I Am Part Of A Large Family (Grade 3 Version)

3. See You On The Moon

4. Bodies And Minds (Demo Version)

5. Song For The Angels (Demo Version)