'Bekka Ma'iingan'

Continue Shopping or View Cart

Zoon's sophomore album Bekka Ma'iingan is here! Grab the album on a vibrant pink with black splatter vinyl or the special edition sea blue marble vinyl version, hand signed by Daniel Monkman! We have pressed only 100 copies of the exclusive sea blue marble vinyl, and are offering a special vinyl bundle which includes the Polaris Prize shortlisted debut album Bleached Wavves (on previously sold out oceania vinyl)

Zoon’s evolution continues to gather momentum since the release of their universally acclaimed 2020 debut Bleached Wavves. Bekka Ma'iigan (Bay-ka Mo-Een-Gan) is the highly anticipated sophomore album from Daniel Monkman, an astonishing sonic landscape that will surprise and transport listeners. Zoon returns with a remarkable album featuring string arrangements from Owen Pallett, and numerous contributors including Michael Peter Olsen, Andrew McLeod (Sunnsetter), special guest Lee Ranaldo (Sonic Youth) and mixed by Grammy winning producer Mark Lawson.

Bekka Ma'iingan translates directly from Ojibway to 'slow down' and 'wolf'. Zoon has steadfastly woven their Indigenous experience and activism into every fabric of their work. They tackle the intricate issues of the fear of loss of their Ojibway language, and acknowledging their '2-Spirit' identity. The choice to more openly share that side of themselves now, is partly in hope of supporting others who may not feel or be in a safe space to show or be themselves yet. 

"This album is about acknowledging a part of me that I felt was there the whole time."

1. All Around You
2. Brave New World (Without You)
3. Care
4. Dodem
5. Niizh Manidoowig (2 Spirit)
6. Awesiinh (A-Way-See)
7. Manitou
8. A Language Disappears
9. Gaagige
10. Ashes in a Vase

Catalogue No: PAPER147
Release Date: April 28, 2023