Chad Valley

Imaginary Music

Continue Shopping or View Cart

Paper Bag Records is thrilled to announce our latest signing, Chad Valley! Chad Valley's new album, Imaginary Music, will be released on May 25th, 2018 on limited edition sunset / marigold vinyl. Pre-order now - only 50 copies available!

Hugo Manuel is better known by his musical alias Chad Valley. A product of Oxford’s prolific creative community, Chad Valley has amassed a catalogue that spans four studio releases, numerous collaborations and dozens of remixes. His 2010 debut — a self-titled exploration in swirling synths and sunburnt melodies — laid the groundwork for 2011’s Equatorial Ultravox, which gave his downtempo productions a decidedly more pop-leaning twist. It was with Equatorial Ultravox that Chad Valley’s profile sprung forward, strengthened by a string of key touring slots supporting the likes of Erasure, CHVRCHES, Twin Shadow, Active Child and Passion Pit. 

Citing influences in China Crisis and Prefab Sprout, as well as less esoteric and more bombastic artists like Toto and Heart, Imaginary Music finds Manuel seeking to unlock the art and secret of timeless pop — something he sees realized most fully in the hyper-romantic music of the ‘80s. Unlike the guest-laden Young Hunger and co-produced Entirely New Blue, the making of this album was an almost completely solitary exercise (save for the ethereal vocals of Katherine Robertson on “Impartial”), allowing Manuel to fully embody the pop star in his mind’s eye. Imaginary Music includes the previously released singles “Up Again” and “LA in August,” both of which bolster one of the strongest batches of material Chad Valley has yet delivered.



1. Dance With Me?
2. Hold Somebody
3. Impartial
4. LA In August
5. See-Through
6. Up Again
7. Unknown Ballad
8. ABC
9. Empire State
10. 10 Minutes
11. Minneapolis

Catalogue No: PAPER121
Release Date: May 25, 2018