Frog Eyes

Carey's Cold Spring

Continue Shopping or View Cart

VINYL BOX - includes limited edition purple vinyl + 'Clouds of Evil' book + signed limited run poster + t-shirt
CD BOX - includes CD + 'Clouds of Evil' book + signed limited run poster + t-shirt
*NOTE: please include desired t-shirt size in order notes. Only Small and Medium shirts remain for the CD Box
Paper Bag Records will release Frog Eyes' Carey’s Cold Spring on vinyl and compact disc worldwide on June 17th. The label will also be releasing Carey Mercer’s book called Clouds of Evil, a collection of essays compiled for his son Ivan. Essay titles include: A Story about the Time I Broke Up Wolf Parade, a Popular Independent Rock Band, by Starring in Their music Video and accepting One Thousand of Their Dollars and a Few recollections of the Time my Band Frog eyes Went to Moscow.
Just two days after Carey Mercer completed the final mixes for the he received a call from his doctor telling him that he had throat cancer. He had been working on the album since 2010 and chose to self-release the record through Bandcamp.
News like this has a way of understandably overshadowing the music itself, and, thankfully, Mercer's cancer seems to be departed, leaving us the opportunity to appreciate the record without such a dire context. The joy here is tripled: he's not going to die, and, as a bonus, the record is awesome. And these victories are made even sweeter with the addition of tour dates.
Mercer explains that Carey’s Cold Spring is not only built from personal experiences but also from what he saw over the last three years of recording: riots, storms, mass protests, the dissolution of any collective faith in our political and economic institutions. But it's not all doom and gloom: He describes the record's duality: “deeply fearful, almost paranoid, the sound of a person grinding his or her teeth in the night. But just a part of it. It’s also the sound of the birds in the morning, I hope”.

1. The Road is Long
2. The Country Child
3. Your Holiday Treat 
4. Don't Give Up Your Dreams
5. A Needle in the Sun
6. Noni's Got a Taste for the Bright Red Air Jordans 
7. A Duration of Starts and Lines that Form Code 
8. Seven Daughters 
9. Claxxon's Lament